The search for originality.

via Daily Prompt: Original

The late Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, Margaret Thatcher once said:”Don’t follow the crowd, let the crowd follow you”.

Students are taught at school to not plagiarise, the quality of their work is graded for its content, structure, and originality. To follow or to copy is simple, everyone can do it with ease, but to stand out among your peers, you’re required to show your talents that are unique to you.

As far as I can remember, I have always been rather different from people I know. Whilst the majority of my school mates liked the latest pop songs, music bands, K-pop stars, I stuck to the literature and classical music I so desperately love. For instance, I would find much greater pleasure in rereading Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Raven” or Rudyard Kipling’s “If” than to listen to any K-pop song(I am by no means belittling fans of K-pop), which is considered “NORMAL” for people my age.

So, am I not “NORMAL“? Of course I’m not, being abnormal in my own ways make me…ME, it makes my personality, it makes me unique, most importantly, it makes me who I am. There are great benefits to this , let me elaborate, for example, people at school know me as the chap who likes classical music, because there are only a handful of my school mates, who obviously got along with me very well, who liked classical music, so, to a certain extent, originality leads to publicity, in a good way; if i were to be known as the chap who likes K-pop, no one would give a damn about that, almost everyone in school listens to K-pop, what makes you so special? So you see, never be afraid to be yourself and to be original.

Many, to my knowledge fail to be original due to the fear of being judged by the eyes of their peers. I have two words for you,”why bother?” Why bother what the other person thinks? He, she or it is entitled to their thoughts, and you are just as much entitled to be yourself, you have NO obligation whatsoever to please people. Just be happy being who you are doing what you are.

Lastly, let me end this moaning with a short poem I wrote. I am still a novice in the field of poetry, so please be nice and try not to laugh..HAHA

Never be afraid to part the crowd,
Leave out fear of failure and doubt.
You are your whole world and everything that’s in it.
Do what you please and be proud of it.

Author: Hoong

I'm a student of Chinese descent living in Malaysia, a nice little country, still love her deeply despite the many flaws she has. Pursuing a career in law, reading law at the moment and aspiring to be a prominent human rights lawyer. I blog with the intention to improve my english and writing skills. Please bear with me. HAHAHA

2 thoughts on “The search for originality.”

    1. Thank you, Just trying to be as original as possible haha.. Have been reading poetry for quite some time but when you try to write your own, you see the difficulty. haha,, nevertheless, i will persevere.

Leave a Reply

